:: home :: contact :: best owner award

April 2011. From Errol:

I met Elena almost a year and one half ago.
From the moment I first spoke to her she put me at ease and made me feel comfortable and confident that I was doing the right thing by buying a cat from her.
I then went out to her place in New Jersey and picked out Ashly. I have always trusted her judgement and advice on how to take care of Ashly properly and lovingly.
She is an outstanding human being filled with love and care in her heart.

Best Regards.

~Errol.

April 2011. From nellie and peter:

My name is Nellie, and I am a retired Pediatric Intensive Care Registered Nurse; my husband is a senior executive for a national mass transit company. We first met Elena Starta on October 31, 2009 when we went to her home in New Jersey with the hope of purchasing two Tonkinese kittens.
Rather than showing us the kittens right away she offered us a seat in the living room. The house, by the way, was very clean with no trace of 'cat odor.' She told us about herself, her background, and her standards, not only from herself but from prospective owners. While we were talking, the cats and kittens gradually began to check us out. She assured us they will all show up and they will choose you.
We thought she was joking but it was so true!
One of Elena's prerequisites for sale was that we keep in touch with her. This was very important. She wanted to hear from us and remain in the loop with regard to how the cats were doing. From our point of view this was very reassuring. We not only left there with two loving, beautiful, 4 month old Tonkinese kittens, but with a very professionally composed folder regarding the breed, information about her and the kittens, her web site, etc., as well as, a big bag of kitten food and litter with complimentary coupons. The next day we took the kittens to our Vet and were assured they were in perfect health. We continue to keep in touch with Elena and visa versa. Elena even agreed to watch our cats for us at her home while we were on vacation - a two hour drive each way, but well worth it! We came home to two clean, healthy, adjusted cats, completely opposite our experience when leaving them with the Vet. Elena Starta is the most conscientious, caring breeder that one will ever find. She is always there when you need her. She's a woman of integrity and warmth and we are honored to know her.


Sincerely,

Nellie and Peter.

2011. From amy:

I am writing to formally submit my statement on behalf of Elena Starta. I acquired two different cats from her breeding, both of which are a Tonkinese breed. One (named 'Ta-ta') was acquired when she was 2 years old, approximately late December, 2005. Another (named 'Sara' at the time, later renamed 'Munchie') was acquired late 2006-early 2007. I am sorry I do not recall exact dates.
I was a resident of New Jersey up until middle of 2010, and then relocated to Southern California. I acquired both cats while living in New Jersey. Based on my recollection, I remember thinking that the condition of Elena Starta's home was incredibly clean when I went to meet the cats and pick up paperwork. If it were not for the toys, cat 'condos,' etc., I would not have known that she was someone who had cats at all, much less breeds them.
Both cats were in perfect condition when they came into my possession. Ta-ta, to this day, is in perfect health. The same is true of Munchie. They are both beautiful, and when I post pictures to FaceBook, my friends compliment their appearance ALL THE TIME. I think Elena really understands what it means to bring beautiful cats into the world. I can say that they have been nothing but healthy. I recall that it was difficult for the cats to adjust to my small apartment back in New Jersey - both to the new environment and to each other. I stayed in touch with Elena throughout the process in which the cats were adjusting to my apartment. My biggest concern was how the newer cat would adjust to the presence of another cat. Elena helped me understand to be patient about how they will socialize with each other.
Most recently, I was concerned that one of my cats (Ta-ta) was putting on excess weight, and had written to Elena to ask her opinion. She was highly responsive, as she always is, and was able to address my concerns and even made reference to the cat's mother to suggest the role of genetics in weight gain. I should mention that Ta-ta is now fine, but was missing me as I was doing a lot of traveling some time ago. Like a human, she turned to food for comfort.
I should mention that these cats were well-trained when they came to me. It was clear that they knew what it meant to be interacting with humans, and have never bit, clawed, or reacted in a way that I found unacceptable. When people visit my home, people are surprised by how well-behaved they are. Even this morning, I clipped the nails on both cats and neither of them struggled and remained patient until I was done. This is unlike many other cats I know.
Aside from the minor weight gain from Ta-ta (which is no longer an issue), I have not experienced any lapse of health with either of my cats. They remain healthy to this day, vibrant, active, playful, and alert. They are true to the Tonkinese breed, and behave as well as I have always known them to behave. They are a joy to have in my life!

Sincerely,

Amy.

2011. From julia:

My name is Julia. I live in Long Island City, New York.
I purchased a Tonkinese kitten from Elena Starta about 3 years ago. Kashmire was 4 months old when I got her. She will be 3 in December 2011. She has a great personality and I never had any health issue with her related to her heredity or to the conditions she was raised in at Elena's home. I brought Kashmire to the vet a couple of weeks after I picked her up and according to my vet she was in perfect health.
Elena has always been very helpful. Before I purchased my kitten she gave me great advices and was always there after I brought Kashmire home to answer any questions I had. Kashmire was always healthy though and most of the questions I had was about introducing her to my other cat Shadow and make sure everything would go smoothly which it did.
We still keep in touch and Elena is always inquiring about Kashmire's development. This is to me what defines a good breeder.
I also can testify of the very good condition of Elena's home as I went to pick up Kashmire with my husband at Elena's home in NJ. It is obvious that Elena loves her cats and takes really good care of them. She even insisted that we turn the heat up in the car before we actually bring Kashmire in it. She didn't want her to feel uncomfortable or catch a cold.
She also insisted on a specific holistic diet that we have been following to the letter.
I knew that purchasing a pure breed cat and especially a Tonkinese would require extra care and attention. Tonkinese cats can indeed be very demanding. But I knew that Elena would be a great help along the way and I was not mistaken.


Best Regards,

Julia

2011. From marge:

My name is Dr. Marjorie K. I purchased one Tonkinese kitten from Elena Strata in 2009 and later in 2010. They are wonderful cats.
My only comment about Elena is how careful she is in placing her babies with the correct families. You must have two cats because these cats need much attention. Elena tells you what food she recommends and how often to change the litter. You are not allowed to let these cats out. She inspects your home for possible hazards. You must sign a contract that states her rules.
If I had any complaint it is that Elena is too demanding that you devote so much care for these cats!!
My male cat is so loving that he never leaves you alone; unlike most independent cats. He is a beautiful Champaign Mink named Naku.


Sincerely,
Marge.

2011. From cindy and victor:

I contacted Ms. Starta on February 14, 2011 to inquire about her Tonkinese Cats and the possibility of purchasing one for our daughter for her upcoming birthday in April. I was very impressed with our conversation about the cats and her listening to our concerns about our daughter's allergies and asthma condition. We asked if we could come and meet her and the cats to make sure that this particular breed would be a match for us since my husband also suffers from the same conditions. We agreed to a date of March 3, 2011. I have to comment on how quickly she responded to our email and we also received from her pictures, explicit instructions of what type of food, cat litter, veterinary visits for spaying and neutering and shot schedule, supplies and other helpful tips on caring for her cats. Ms. Starta was very informative on what to expect in her contract and what not abiding to those conditions would be.
When we arrived at her home on March 3, 2011, I was asked to wash our hands, take our shoes off and to put my belongings on her bench and to make sure that my purse was closed. Her house was very clean and the cats seemed very friendly, content, well taken care of and completely loved. My husband and I spend about an hour and half with Ms. Starta and her cats/kittens and we agreed to purchase two (2) kittens. Since these were going to be a surprise birthday present Ms. Starta offered to bring the kittens to our home in Bridgewater, NJ on April 12 to help with the surprise. She did not have to go out of her way to do this I could have simply driven down that day ourselves but we graciously accepted.
After our visit, we received a prompt email with a confirmation from Ms. Starta on our deposit with the birthdates of both kittens, and again she detailed out the supplies we would need and where to buy the food, supplements, cat litter, veterinary care and schedules, and what her code for the site was so that we could take advantage of the same options she had.
Considering that I was new to purchasing an animal for our family, I asked a lot of questions over the next month to her and she answered every single email with always a happy tone, timely manner and eager to make sure that we had all of the necessary information.
Ms. Starta did call us the day before she was to bring the kittens to us with some unfortunate news that the girl kitten we wanted had become pregnant and that we would not be able to have her. Ms. Starta stated that she would bring us the brother of the other kitten we wanted and I had to be honest with her that we particularly wanted a 'white' kitten and a girl. Without question, she said that was fine and that she had a very young girl kitten that was similar to the other girl but she was 5 weeks behind our male kitten. Ms. Starta also was concerned that with the age of our children (9 and 4 plus years old) that we need to constantly watch the kids and the kittens closely as young children like to squeeze small animals and they can get hurt or even worse. I reassured her that we would be diligently watching over everyone; she agreed.
Ms. Starta brought our kittens to us on April 12 as agreed upon a month prior. Ms. Starta stayed with our children for about two and a half hours that day to make sure she met each child and spoke to them on how to handle kittens and to make sure that they are very gentle and kind to them. The next day I noticed that one of the kitten's was limping and we emailed her immediately to ask should I be concerned and if she had noticed the day before. Not only did she respond, but she said that kittens are learning how to jump and sometimes hurt themselves and she didn't think it was to be concerned with but to keep a watchful eye and it could take about a month or so to go away, but of course if not I would take him to the vet and have it checked. She has routinely followed up with us every couple of days to make sure he is well and that all is going well.
I am very happy to report only a week later that both kittens are quite comfortable in our home and big part of our family. They are everywhere in our house during the day but are sleeping still in our bathroom per Ms. Starta's recommendations for the first month. Our male kitten is still limping but a bit less and I am carefully watching him.
In summary, I have only known Ms. Starta for about a month's time; she is a very caring individual and seems very genuine. The love she has for her cats/kittens can be felt when talking with her either over the phone, in person, or over email. We understood immediately that buying one of her cats was not a one-time deal it would be a lifelong relationship that we happy agreed to. I can only comment on what I know and we have been very pleased with our kittens, the information provided to us and the continued response we receive. It would be very easy to have bought the kittens and not heard from her again.


Sincerely,

Cindy and Victor.

2011. From Donna and william:

Please be advised that we purchased our first Tonkanese kitten from Elena Starta at her home in NJ in August of 2007 only after much communication with her on line and the telephone. Elena wanted to make sure that we were matched up with the right kitten and that kitten was matched with the right mix of a new family. She asked all the right questions. How many dogs/cats in the house? How many are male/female? What are their temperaments? What do you feed them? Do you take them to the vet annually for their shots? What shots do they get? Are there small children in the house? What do you feed your animals? What kind of litter to they use ? Elena is a very good communicator and made every issue extremely clear about the mental health and physical health of the kitten. Elena watched how we interacted with Zoe during the first actual face/face meeting and also how Zoe responded to us. Thankfully, it was a perfect match and we have been extremely happy with Zoe who is now 4 years old. We had no health problems nor mental problems with Zoe and followed all of Elena's recommendations including getting Zoe fixed at the designated time line.
During these 4 years, we stayed in contact with Elena. Elena continued to be very interested in Zoe's well being and wanted to know how she was and how our 3 male cats handled her. This I thought was pretty impressive, seeing that she actually remembered that we had 3 cats and remembered Zoe's name and details. I would say that emails are pretty standard every 3 months. We, of course, happily respond and send videos and pictures of Zoe with Baby, Riley and Lexus (3 male cats). We were extremely impressed with Elena's sincerity in Zoe's well being.
Last Fall, we contacted Elena to prepare for another Tonk purchase. We started this process in May and picked up little Mia Moch in November of 2010. We had to wait so long because a baby Tonk cannot be taken away from the nest until an appropriate amount of time. I forgot how long that timetable is but think it is somewhere between 3-4 months. We met Elena halfway, since we live 6 hours away in New York state.
During the time between May-November, Elena reviewed with us all the details to ensure we were getting the right Tonk for our family and the right family for the Tonk. Quite honestly, Elena just doesnt breed and sell Tonks to make money.....her primary focus is on making all three parties happy. (The Tonk, the new owners, and Elena). We picked up Mia outside of a designated restaurant in November. My husband and I had lunch first with Elena and discussed all the rules/regulations/feeding type/shots/check ups/litter type and the introduction process of Mia to Zoe, Baby, Riley and Lexus. Obviously, we already knew most of these details after going through this process with Zoe. Elena took nothing for granted and reviewed in deep detail all these issues again with us.
Then, finally, we went out to the car and I got to meet little Mia. She was just adorable and we bonded immediately. Mia has been with us for 1 year and 5 months and everyday is a real treat to watch her, love her and play with her. She is quite a character who loves to play with socks and drop them in a water bowl - getting them soaken wet and then drop them on us.
We find Elena to be a very dedicated, loving and credible person. We look forward to continuing our Tonk relationship with Elena who is the most wonderful grandmother to our girls !

Respectfully,

Donna
(retired Citicorp VP)
William
(retired CEO of EBS Dealing Resources Inc.)

From mara:

Dear Elena,

I wanted to take a moment to thank you for the two new additions to my family. Since January, these two little boys have been up to all kinds of mischief, as is normal for kitties. But I really appreciate the extra time and (at times overwhelming) informational instruction on how best to care and raise my babies.
There are some recent events which your direct advice led to me standing up to my veterinarian who wanted to over-vaccinate the kittens.
Being empowered with knowledge has been a huge reason why my kitties have had an advocate to fight for what is best for them, rather than what the medical veterinarian hospitals want to push on the customer. Let me share some specifics:
1. Getting Charlemagne for a general vet checkup was important, as you instructed me to do. But what I was most shocked with was the vets insistence that the kitten receive all his immunizations and vaccinations at one time. As I remember you stating, kittens are tiny and their bodies need to gently be exposed to the correct vaccinations, allowing time in between for the kitten to adjust and get strong. Otherwise their little bodies can't fight off all that the vets inject into them.
a. This is exactly what my vet tried to do. But because you tutored me in exactly when these shots should occur, I was able to push back and protect my kitten(s).
2. Thank you for answering my phone call from the vet at 7pm.
3. Thank you for suggesting/insisting on the organic food approved by the AAFCO, the governing body for pet foods in America. Life's Abundance continues to be the reason my cats are thriving.
4. Supplements for skin & coat recommendations
5. Organic litter recommendations - world's greatest cat litter.
I admit that when I first started to adopt the kitties, I have been a cat owner for 15 years. I did not think there was anything more I could learn.
You continue to positively overwhelm me with your knowledge, experience and know-how for these beautiful animals.
Thank you for continuing to be there for me as I ask questions about anything. You never tire of me.
Lastly, thank you for making me a better mommy to my animals and raising the bar for what you need to know to care and love for my new babies. I will forever hold you in the highest regard.
I will continue to highly recommend your kitties to others, and many have asked me where they can find a tonkinese to adopt. There is only one place I would send them - to you Elena!
www.elingakittens.com
www.elinga.net
Elena Starta - breeder extraordinaire

With all my trust and gratitude,
Mara

Adopted January 2011, 2 kitties 6 and 8 months old. Both boys. Both thriving.
Employment - Microsoft Corporation
Enterprise Strategy Advisor

From Derek and Lisa:

Just to let you know, Nigel and Olivia have settled in very well. They are already very sociable and affectionate with us and love to play (especially "killing the feather on the stick"). They are eating normally. They use the litter boxes -- at first we were not even sure which box because they bury everything so well! And a few weeks later: Here are some new pictures of Nigel and Olivia (on their catster web pages) -- I thought you might like to see how they are doing. http://www.catster.com/pet_page.php?i=397668 http://www.catster.com/pet_page.php?i=397674

From Bill:

Maxwell conitinues to delight us with hisantics & enthusiasm. love, ~Bill H.

From Jenny :

Just thought I'd send you an email to let you know how Nora is doing. She and Frankie are still living "separate lives"---Nora has her space in my laundry room with lots of toys and several choices of kitty beds. She is more than ready to have free range of the house, but I keep telling her that Frankie is not yet ready to share. Right now she is here in my bedroom with me and trying to walk across the keyboard. I assume that means she wants to send you greetings. Frankie was hardly speaking to me Friday morning...I smelled like a strange cat. However, after I told him repeatedly what a good kitty boy he was, by evening he had forgiven me and was back in my lap. He seems to be getting used to her smell. I brought her downstairs yesterday to explore while Frankie was asleep upstairs. I think she misses all the other cats at your house. Hopefully it will not be too long before she and Frankie can keep one another company. and another one: As we all expected, the FeLV/FIV test for Nora was fine as was the stool sample I gave the vet. I figured I might as well have a sample of Frankie's tested at the same time. The vet said his was ok as well except his sample included some "green garland." Darned if I can figure out where he found that to eat!! Best I can tell, it might be a piece of raffia from the tassel of his favorite "fishing pole" toy. My vet is partial to oriental breed cats--she had 5 Siamese cats of her own at one time. I've noticed that whenever Frankie goes to see her, she makes a bigger fuss over him and always gives him a fur mouse toy. My other 2 cats never got that special attention. Nora, however, also got a fur mouse from the vet yesterday. I guess she's on her way to making a good impression as well. Right now I've given her free run of the upstairs of my house. Frankie has the downstairs and they can hear, smell and see one another from a distance. Nora has lots of open space up here and has been dashing around as cats will sometimes do. Your house must be very noisy when all of your babies decide to take a romp. right before New Year: I thought you might like to see a few recent pictures of Nora in her new home. She and Frankie are getting along very well. You'll see a couple of the pictures are of them together already. I've seen a lot of "kitty play" going on and a few nose touches between them. I think Frankie has decided he likes her---he lets her sit on the top perch of the kitty tower which is something he never let my other cats do (it was always "his"). Nora enjoys watching the birds at the bird feeder and playing "mouse soccer" on the steps with a toy mouse. Nora was a big hit with my family at Christmas; everyone was petting her and she was loving it. Hope you and all your family--four-legged and otherwise--enjoy a happy new year.

From Nina :

Hi Elena, The little guy saw the vet today. He did just fine! Dont worry, he DID NOT get his second set of shots. I havent made the appointment yet but I'll be going back for it around March 8th.The little stinker had his first semi bath today....had to! I was scooping out his litter box into the toilet and, in a split second, the little bugger jumped right into the darn toilet! Stinker was soaked in "poop soup" up to his middle! I cleaned him up and dried him off real fast. Never a dull moment with a kitten around! A lesson learned though......CLOSE THE DOOR when I'm scooping! ha ha Sweetest little silly son of a gun in the world! And such a good boy! Except for the toilet incident, which, trust me, WONT happen again! My goodness! ~Nina About the little man..............I'm completely in love with the little guy. We are best buddies and inseparable. God I love this kitten! And I'm SOOOOO glad I found the Tonkinese breed and little Pilot!

Thought you might want to see a picture or two of my spoiled kitten! I've attached one or two.~Nina

...He's still and will continue to be my number one guy! Love the sweetie! He believes his permanent place of residence is either my lap or my shoulder. I'm for sure NOT complaining. I just refer to him as my other appendage! God love him! He is also very spoiled and has just about every toy, post, tent etc I find! ~Nina

Little Pilot is getting so big! AND he is wonderful, God love him! I'm in such amazment at how affectionate, loving, and attached he is. I have never experienced anything like it in a cat. Not that I have had many cats, but I've been around many and this is the most loving I have EVER encountered. What they say about the breed is SO true! And I have a feeling that he wont grow out of it. The little darling just INSISTS on being on my lap, in my arms, or on my shoulder ALL the time! He looks me straight in the eyes and I see adoration!.....soooooo great! There is almost nothing better than coming in the door and having him come running to greet me like my arrival is the highlight of his day! I call him my number one guy! (shhhhhhhh, dont tell my boyfriend! he he) Anyway, enough going on about how wonderful he is, I'm sure you know all about it. I've had less episodes of urination outside the box. He has free roam of the place now (with the exception of my bedroom, dont want to take that chance yet) and has been pretty good. I've read some things on the internet about how some cats just like the feel of soft and wrinkly under them. I've watched him really closely and I'm thinking this is his issue. Its amazing how he'll be doing his thing here and there and find something soft under him, touching him, and he just "assumes the position"! Thank God it hasnt happened much and I've watched so closely that I've caught him just in time a few times. I've been spraying "Feliway" around and am picking up a diffuser at the vet tomorrow. The stuff if hugely expensive BUT if it will work I'll continue to do it. Once again I'll just say that I'm so thrilled to have found the Tonkinese and my little Pilot man! He has made such a difference in my life! I'll keep you posted, ~Nina

From Hunter and Jenny:

Hi Elena,Our new kittens have settled in well to their new home. They have chosen a place to sleep, which is on a cushion on one of our dining room chairs. They spend their time playing with the toys we gave them, scratching their scratching post, eating and sleeping. They also like playing in our bathtub when it is empty.

Hi Elena,We are all doing well here. The kittens have both grown a lot and have settled into their new home. We have named the boy "Koko" and the girl "Chili". They have both developed their own unique personalities. Koko is very affectionate, purrs almost all the time and eats as much as he can but he is also a bit clumsy and gets scared more easily than Chili. Chili is also very friendly although not quite as much as Koko and she doesn't purr or eat as much, but she is much more agile and acrobatic and is smarter about figuring out problems like how to get the toy mouse off the top of their scratching post. They like to play with their toys. Chili especially likes crinkly mylar balls and toy mice, while Koko likes to chase their long cloth streamer. They spend their time chasing each other around the apartment and play fighting and they both also like to relax and sleep on our laps. Koko spends about 5-10 minutes each day licking clean my hands and arms and Chili likes to jump up and sit on my shoulders when I'm brushing my teeth and shaving in the morning before work. We think Koko may be a champagne mink and not a champagne point because his eyes have changed color from completely blue to more of an aqua color. They are not as green as Chili's though so we're not completely sure. I will send you a link for pictures in a separate e-mail.

From Liz and James:

Dear Elena: We last spoke in this 5/14 email and by that Sun. Chanel came into the living room and let us pet and play with her. Quickly after that she stopped staying under the bed. They are both really happy and doing fabulous. Chanel talks to get her pets. Chanel uses the three scratching posts, but Bianca wants to use the living room furniture the most. Trying to dissuade her and any tips you have are appreciated. We do keep them in the bedroom at night with the door closed and they use the litter box in the master bathroom. I am not always good about getting online and so if you do not hear from me asap, know that I am thinking of you and you are always welcome to phone.Take Care and thanks for expanding our family to a beautiful one. We just love them to pieces ~Liz

Dear Elena: Thanks for your great advicewith the water bottle which we did start and is working. Any tips on encouraging Bianca towards scratching on the posts could help. Just this AM Jim got her to get off a chair that she was starting on and walked right to the scratch post and rubbed his fingers at the very top and right away she strectched out tall and used it. We keep it scented at times with a little catnip spray. It is a tall one in the living room that Chanel uses regularly. She is perfect with it ! As I type to you Bianca is on my lap sleeping and sending love

From Kate and Jay:

Hi Elena, Thank you for letting us come to your home to see those precious little kittens! We couldn't stop talking about Rukus, what a doll. ... and I can't wait to hear about their progress. ~Kate

Just wanted to let you know that Rukus is doing GREAT! he is so cute and loving. He loves to play around with Jay and then cuddle with me, it is perfect! I will start getting some pictures together to send to you so you can see how big he is getting. Jay went to the vet a week ago and he was one pound 9 ounces, I think he is bigger now! I will keep in touch ~Kate(P.S. Jay has been sending me videos and pictures of Rukus over cell phone - feels great to see them! - Elena)

From John and JP:

Hi Elena,We're all here, safe and sound. I appreciate all of your time in walking me through getting up to speed with these little angels. They are already playing, but every now and then when one kitten loses sight of the other (the shy quiet one) he starts crying and I think it is a call for his mother.I will tell you that already the playful kitten runs, jumps up my pant leg, and even on top of my shoulders without any prodding or help from me. Both JP and me were so surprised at how friendly he has been. I hope the shy one adjusts quickly.They are both drinking well, in fact, they had a big drink each when they arrived. I haven't seen them eat yet or use the litter.I'll send more details later. Let us know when would be convenient for you to visit all of us. Thanks again for the use of your carrying case and for getting me a few starter items for the angels.~John & JP

From Margaret:

Hello All, and Happy Holidays! She is so fabulous - really affectionate and very smart girl! She loves company, and loves my mom and son! I will have to have the pictures I took recently developed. Margaret and Princess Jasmine

From Alexander and Victoria:

Elena, I think my initial panic has gone away. I have arranged for a nice living quarters for Ophelia - her carry covered with a soft towel to shade from the light, and found out that a quiet radio does the trick - she calmed down and actually got some sleep. I'm sure once she gets used to our apartment she will be comfortable outside her carry too (although she is not locked in now either, just confined to the bathroom like you recommended). I have a question for you: we have a choice between using a local animal hospital, or having a vet visit us at home. Do you recommend one over the other? As a reward for answering you get this: http://public.fotki.com/vergov00/kitten/ password: kitten Keep in touch! Elena, Ophelia is adjusting handsomely. She is quite comfortable with us now, and the crying is down to those times when we are around and are not playing with her =) The vet paid us a visit today, and only had good things to say.and a couple months later: Elena, We are excited to welcome you in our apartment. All three of us are doing very well, and spending plenty of time together. We are ready to give you back the carrier... Let's tentatively plan for next weekend, and work out the details at the end of this week. See you soon! ~Alexander

From Nancy Scott and Matthew

Hello, Ling-Ling is doing very well. She slept all the way home. Once here she ventured out of her carrier after only a short time and explored and played. She then drank some water, ate dinner, used her litter box and is now taking a nap. Our other cat is not too happy but he will come around. Right now we are watching them closely.Have a nice vacation. ~Nancy Scott and Matthew

Hi Elena,

Sorry we didn't get back to you sooner but our computer was infected with a virus. We would love for you to come our and see our precious Ling-Ling. She has adjusted wonderfully and her and our other cat get along great now. We will be home this Sunday or next Sunday if either of those dates work for you. Let me know. Thanks, ~Nancy

Hi Elena, Sorry we did not get back to you, however we were having computer problems. I was infected with a virus and it took awhile to get someone over here to fix it. We are home this coming Sunday April 29 or next Saturday May 5th, if either of these days works for you. Let us know. Ling Ling is doing very well. It seems like she has always been a part of our family. Have a good night and we'll talk soon.~Nancy

From Harold:

Hi Elena,We had a great time visiting with you, your family and the kittens. Thank you so much for inviting us to come on New Years Day!!! We can hardly wait for our little girl to be ready to venture out into the world with us.Many thanks for the visit and the wonderful picture!Best regards,~Harold

Hi Elena,Our baby stood up to the trip to our house (approx. 45 mi.) very well, When we got home and let her out of the carry cage. She has been very active and very curious all day. We sit on the floor with her and she gets some loving and personal attention and then she goes out to explore on her own. In less than a minute she comes back to make sure that one of us is there. Then, off again to explore more. She has used her new litter box, drank water and ate both wet and dry food. We think she has a lot to digest because it is an extremely radical change in environment for her.All in all, we think she is doing well and will adapt quickly. We'll keep you posted as she integrates into our home's activities.Have a great trip. We'll talk to you soon.~Harold & Ron

Hi Elena,Thanks for your email. I'm sorry that I haven't responded until now. Well, Thursday we went to the vet and were seen by a different vet that we normally see. He gave he a complete examination and also pronounced her to be in good health. He gave her the shot required and told us to bring her back in a month or so for her rabies shot.She is doing extremely well and eats like a pig. She is very inquisitive and curious and has to see everything! She has already learned her name and comes when called. Every night she sleeps in the bed with us either under or on the blankets. Her eye infection is completely gone and the bump on her tummy at the surgery site has completely disappeared. Shaq, our dog, accepted her immediately but is was Penny who went to him first and is now laying down with him and goes over to him and rubs her body on his face.Yesterday she learned about the downstairs and explored many things. Somehow I don't think she likes to be downstairs, but time will tell.So much for now. We'll take to you soon and send some more pictures.Have a great day, ~Harold

Hi Elena,Hi are you and all the family? I hope all is well. I loved your pictures of your spring flowers. They were very colorful.Penny and I are looking forward to your visit. BTW she just got her last distemper shot and also her rabies shot.See you on Friday.~Harold

From Rama:

When we got home and I let them out in the bathroom, the girl began growling at the boy again. yet, the next morning, when I went in to see them, they had been sleeping together. It was up and down for the first 48 hours. I kept them in the bathroom, as you suggested, for 24 hours, but then my little girl wanted out. She literally burst out the crack in the door, running around the house and yowling - she was clearly looking for the other cats. After about 20 minutes, she figured out they weren't there, and started to explore. They have taken over, as I am sure you fully understand. I am using a water squirter to keep them off the dining table and kitchen counter, but otherwise they have the run of the place. I set up a bird feeder outside a big window and they sit and watch the birds sometimes. The boy leapt for one today, and the bird got startled and flew away. He continues to be very loving, while she is still skittish. I am feeding her the wet food in my lap, and she is getting more comfortable with me. 2he comes to lay in my lap if I stay in one place for a while, so I think it is just a matter of time. They got a clean bill of health at the vet, and I am going to schedule their neutering in the next couple of weeks. And they have names now - the boy is Premaka, which means lover-boy and the girl is Sundari, which means beautiful one. Thank you , ~Rama, C.S.Y.T., R.Y.T. Master Yoga Foundation

From Sandy:

Dear Elena, It was a pleasure meeting you yesterday. We had a long ride home after picking up Sophie. She slept the entire way home. I went over to visit her today. She had spent the night in the bathroom, as you suggested. And then she had met Bailey, the 2 year old siamese, before I got there. She was curled up sleeping next to him. She seems to be adjusting well. I'll keep you posted. ~SandyHi Elena, Just alittle note to tell you Sophie is doing great....she scampers around the house, is very playful and full of life. My son says she' s been to the vet as you told him to.. Sophie tags along after Bailey , their 2 year old male siamese cat, and she sleeps half on him on their bed at night. I hope you had a happy mother's day. ~Sandy

From Carrie and Robert:

Elena - Our kitten is adjusting nicely - she is very active at night time! Bob has slept in the bathroom for the past two nights with her on a cold tile floor so she wouldn't feel lonely ( I did it in bold - Elena) Chester (our older cat) saw her yesterday and they just sort of watched one another. Chester seemed just curious - showed no aggression at all, which I found surprising for a first encounter. So, thus far, things are going well. I will keep your abreast of the kitty politics as they develop! Best regards, ~Carrie Elena:Just wanted you to know that everything is going fine. We quarantined the kitten in the bathroom and brought her out to play multiple times during the day yesterday. By last evening, we were sitting with her on our lap and Chester was relaxing on the floor in front of us. By the time we went to bed, we had brought out a feather on a string and both Chester and the kitten were chasing it. As I type this, they are both taking turns racing up and down the hallway. zxxxxxxx4 That last comment was from the kitten who has just leapt onto my lap. I just made a vet appointment for Thursday evening.~Bob

So far, so good. Since we were around most of the day, we let the kitten have the run of the house and moved her litter box from the upstairs bathroom to the downstairs, by the front door. Last night, instead of confining her to the bathroom, we carried Chester into our bedroom and closed the door, leaving the kitten with the run of the house with her carrier out in the hall with a light on. She slept with no complaints in the living room, as far as I can tell. Tonight or tomorrow, we'll leave the bedroom door open and encourage her to come sleep with us just as we do with Chester.As you can probably tell, no name yet. I'm hoping in the next couple of days. All: Thought you might like to see pictures of the new kitten. I'm pleased to say that the introduction of a new kitten into the household has gone remarkably smoothly and the integration was completed in record time (1 week)! As you can see by the photo of the kitten with Chester, she is his new bud! I found him grooming her yesterday afternoon and last night the two of them slept curled up together. The photo with the blue was last week. The other two were taken yesterday. Looks like a kitten is just what the doctor ordered! ~Bob

© 2018 Elinga Tonkinese. All rights reserved.